The behind-scenes-blog of Bare Theatre and its affiliates.

The Trials and Tribulations of Casting.

Let me be clear – our Comedy of Errors cast is incredible.  This is an awesome group to work with, and I can’t wait to add in the circus artists!

It’s the casting process that is always my least favorite part of directing.  Why?  I’m glad I asked for you.

As one of our compatriots recently posted, casting is not about who’s better than who.  It’s about finding the right fit.  As a director you have ideas about who the characters are, what their personalities are like, and maybe even what they look like.

There are three things that inevitably happen in casting, in my experience:

  1. At least one role, sometime several, have a ton of actors/actresses who would be perfect.  Frustrating, because there are not enough roles.
  2. At least one other role, sometimes several, do not seem to have any “fits” with what is in my head.  Not as frustrating, but it does require a shift in thinking and imagining the character differently from the first vision.
  3. There are always several roles that have perfect fits and the actors asked want to do the roles – however, they’re in another show, out of town that weekend, etc.  This one is the most frustrating!

Another thing I don’t like about casting is that I always feel like I’m in Jerry McGuire – wheeling, dealing, trying to coordinate with dozens of people and get just the right team put together.  It’s just not something I feel great with.

However, there is another truth that I experience every time once casting is complete – I always end up with the cast I needed.

It’s so true.  For all the heartache I put myself through in this process, in the end we have exactly the right cast in place, every time.

This time is no different.  Although we are still short one Antipholus…

-GTB

4 responses

  1. Good luck with your production. I wish I lived in the area. I played Antipholus of Syracuse in High School.

    April 9, 2013 at 1:06 pm

  2. Kacey

    It helps, as an actor, to have a director as thoughtful and gracious in his casting as you (whether we’ve been cast in your play or not)! Here’s to wishing I could’ve either helped or hindered the ease of your auditions : )

    April 10, 2013 at 1:36 pm

Leave a Reply

